I’M READING WHAT??

I grew up reading romance novels, mostly Harlequins as that was what my mother always bought.  The occasional Silhouette was snuck in there as well.  But they were all contemporary at the time.  Historicals, paranormal, that wasn’t heard of in that genre.  It was all about real life that was happening now.  Okay, so it was romance so maybe it wasn’t exactly real life.  Maybe it was more the fantasy life that real women wanted.

As I rolled along in the years, I never ventured beyond my narrow view of what a romance novel should be.   My mom started reading Historicals but I no longer lived with her and I could afford my own books so I just shrugged them off.  I assumed they were filled with dull tales of stuffy people in an archaic society.    Well, much to my surprise, I was wrong.

My first hint at this wrong assumption was after I had gone to a Writer’s Conference and had the lovely and talented Julia Quinn as a speaker.  Her books were everywhere and they were free!   Nothing I love more than a free book.  But I had plenty of others that were contemporary so I put hers aside to possibly read later.  Later came during a trip where I knew I might be in airports for a while.

I brought along WHAT HAPPENS IN LONDON and began to read, hoping I wouldn’t fall asleep during it.  Wow, nothing stuffy about this book.  The characters were amazing and so fun filled, I couldn’t put it down.   So shortly after when one of Mia Marlowe’s Historicals came up as a Kindle freebie, I grabbed it.  LORD OF DEVIL ISLE was fantastic.  Again, it was not what I expected.  Slowly I came to realize that books set in other periods of time, while different from what I normally read, could still be just as good.  Now, I’m hooked and have gone through half a dozen Julia Quinn books, several Mia Marlowe and have even read a handful of other authors who write Historicals.

Now here is where I confess to never having any interest in paranormal romance.  Vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, … really?  Not for me.  Then I met the very talented MA Grant in an online forum.  We posted snippets of our work and what ….?  Here’s this woman writing about werewolves and I am enthralled with her writing and characters.  And of course because she is so talented, she managed to get one of her books published by Harlequin Escape e-books.  Good thing because I don’t think I could have waited for a paper copy to come out.  I’m too impatient.

This book is called RED MOON and I just fell in love with the characters.  I don’t care that the hero can change into a wolf at will.  And apparently neither did the heroine.  Good thing for the hero.  The best part about this is that her hero has two brothers.  And … you guessed it, she is writing a sequel with the second brother who we got a very nice glimpse of in the first book.   I keep bugging her to finish that one, but alas writing a great book takes time.  That patience thing again gets in the way.

My lesson, I guess, is that trying new things isn’t always bad.  You may never know when you’ll love something you thought you used to hate.  Just don’t ask me to try brussel sprouts.  I’m not that adventurous.

About kari lemor

aspiring writer of romances
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’M READING WHAT??

  1. Laurie Evans says:

    Love Mia Marlowe’s books. I highly recommend Touch of a Thief and How to Please a Pirate.

  2. kari lemor says:

    Yup, got the whole ‘HOW TO…” series. Loved it!

  3. rachel says:

    I have Red Moon waiting on my kindle (same as you, I was never a massive paranormal reader but I am excited about this one!)
    I am also going to try out Mia Marlowe and Julia Quinn on your recommendations. Love me a bit of historical 🙂

  4. kari lemor says:

    I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

